Database Check stuck running initial web install - FIXED

Moderator: crythias

p3isys
Znuny newbie
Znuny Version: Znuny 6
Company: P3iSys LLC

Database Check stuck running initial web install - FIXED

Post by p3isys »

Hello. I've been using OTRS for many years. Currently doing a test install of Znuny to do a new ticketing system
Server Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Database Ver 15.1 Distrib 10.3.32-MariaDB

Upon initial installation I could not get past the initial install script web page (hostname/ip)/otrs/installer.pl

When I ran the database check the following error would not go away:

Result of database check
Wrong database collation (character_set_database is utf8mb4, but it needs to be utf8)
And it was impossible to proceed with the installation.

I went into MariaDB and altered the database collation and character set to utf8 and utf8_general_ci, but this did not make the error go away.
Changing the server collation and character sets at the Mariadb console also did not work.

The issue is in this file: /etc/mysql/mariadb.conf.d/50-server.cnf
Here are the relevant lines in the file, and I've copied them because the comments explain the source of the issue:

# MySQL/MariaDB default is Latin1, but in Debian we rather default to the full
# utf8 4-byte character set. See also client.cnf
#
character-set-server = utf8mb4
collation-server = utf8mb4_general_ci

The configuration files from the Ubuntu software repositories appear to defer to some legacy settings left over from Debian.
After I first started using OTRS 2 many years ago it installed and ran normally, but several years later I began to experience errors because the original default character set and collation for MySQL installations was latin1_swedish_ci because Sweden was the home country of the creator of MySQL Monty Widenius (who later started the fork of the MySQL project called MariaDB after the original project was taken over by Mordor, er, I mean Oracle Corp, but I digress).